Ever since we moved into the house in which we’re living now, we find we get at least one or two calls every couple of weeks where the conversation goes like this:

Caller: Hello?

Me: Hello?

Caller: Hello?

Me: Hello?  (Pause)  Who are you looking for?

Caller: I just noticed on my cell phone that I missed a call from this number.  You called me?

Me: No, I didn’t call you; I don’t know who you are.

Caller: Are you sure you didn’t call?

Me (or what I wish I could say): No, you know what, I’m not really sure.  I do suffer from short-term memory loss.  It’s possible I was just on the phone dialing random numbers for fun.  Terribly sorry.  OR  Yes, stupid, I’m quite certain; how important is it to you to return a call from a number you are not famiiar with anyway?  How desperate are you for conversation that you would call back if the person didn’t leave a message for you?

Another time, we got a voicemail message from a doctor’s office saying they needed the OHIP number for Person X, someone we’ve never heard of.  As a courtesy, I called the office back to let them know they dialled the wrong number. They checked their records, and they showed our phone number on file.  Who is this ghost giving out our phone number to random people?!  Is Bell still annoyed that we switched to Rogers?

Has this happened to you?  Any suggestions for some quick-witted responses next time this occurs?

 

