Says Joe McGinnis, author of “The Rogue: Searching for the Real Sarah Palin”:

“(N)o matter how much my book sales might benefit from a Palin presidential campaign in 2012, I sincerely hope that the whole extravaganza, which has been unblushingly underwritten by a mainstream media willing to gamble the nation’s future in exchange for the cheap thrill of watching a clown in high heels on a flying trapeze, is nearing the end of its run.”

I couldn’t have said it any better.  I don’t necessarily think I’m any smarter than a lot of people except when I see politicians like Sarah Palin, Rob Ford and Stephen Harper become rock stars with a rabid cult following.  Then I become convinced that I must have missed the Kool Aid run.  It seemed so painfully obvious to me, so how could these folks have hoodwinked so many voters?  The most astonishing thing about Sarah Palin, though, is how the media really did give her credibility by giving her a soapbox, and this is apparently what McGinnis admonishes the most in his book.

It’s really terrifying to me, this notion of Sarah Palin becoming the so-called “leader of the free world.”  And scarier still that so many Americans (and Canadians) embrace her.  This is not a vote for President of the Student Council, people (segue: if you ever saw the film” Election” with Reese Witherspoon, don’t you think Witherspoon’s character is probably exactly what Sarah Palin was like as a teenager?)!  Your country is in one of the worst economic messes ever and you think this is the person who can lead you out of it?  Your vote in 2012 will have a ripple effect felt around the world.  I’m not a religious person, but I pray for you, my American friends, I pray for you.

