Yes, incommunicado again.  Sorry, I’ve been on vacation this week and have been too relaxed to even think about writing a post.  We’ve been having another incredible week in Prince Edward County.  After four years of coming here, we finally saw the sand dunes at the Sandbanks outlet this year – quite impressive!  I never felt sand so soft (and no, I’ve not been to Bermuda, so don’t get smart on me!).  The most fascinating thing on this trip has been watching fish flying out of the lake – not something we’d ever witnessed on previous trips here.  This part of Lake Ontario has cohoe salmon, whitefish and lake trout among many other species.  These fish were huge, and performing quite the acrobatic show near shore.  A couple of kids came out with fishing rods and actually caught a couple of fish, but the fish were so big that they bit the lure off their rods and got away.

Well, I read something last night that astonished me: Steve Jobs agreed to authorize his biography because he wanted his kids to know him better.  He felt this was the medium to explain to them why he wasn’t able to spend much time with them.  How sad!  “Oh sure”, some would say, “He was busy re-inventing and revolutionizing the way the world communicates, and you’re going to give him a hard time about this?”  Hell, yeah!

Steve Jobs – the mac daddy of the tech world (literally, daddy of the Mac, huh?) – was arguably one of the luckiest people in the universe.  He got to do something he absolutely loved for a living, he made a gazillion dollars doing it, and in no small measure, he effected social change.  His would be one of the greatest obituaries of all-time, and accolades poured in from great business and tech leaders around the world about his genius.  But that obituary would not include anything about his accomplishments as a daddy to his kids

In making my decision to quit my job, the one thing I said many times over to FuBu was, “At my funeral, I want people to remember me for the wife and mother I was, not for how much I was able to grow my business year-over-year.”  Of course, I am no Steve Jobs, so maybe I’d feel differently if I had even half his brilliance.

However, if you bring children into this world and you choose not to make them your number one priority, I would hope that you would at least put them on equal footing with your work.  And you certainly should be able to explain to them face-to-face and while you’re alive why they are not your top priority.  It strikes me as cowardly to do this via a posthumous biographical novel.  After marvelling at what a magnificent mind and vision this man had, my view of Steve Jobs diminished significantly after I heard about this.

Having said all this, I still hold his inspiring Stanford commencement address as some of the finest words ever spoken!

