There’s been a lot of whining recently about how Apple is not doing enough to protect its customers from theft.  Once iPods and now iPhones and iPads have become the theft items du jour.  I am one of the little guys, but frankly, I am getting a little exasperated with all this backlash against big corporations.  Whatever happened to personal accountability?

I honestly don’t understand how someone could expect Apple to compensate a customer if their iPhone was stolen.  How is this Apple’s responsibility?  They design, produce and service the products that you love.  That is all.  One customer mocked them for servicing his stolen iPad.  Well, what would you expect them to do?  Why should they know that your iPad was stolen and be the arbiter to decide that they should not service it?  They’re not the police.  Why is it their fault if you were not paying enough attention to your own surroundings and fell victim to theft?  While you’re complaining, why don’t you just sue Apple for creating products that are too good?

What’s up with this air of self-entitlement?

Which leads me – belatedly – to Time Magazine’s Person of the Year in 2011: the Protester.  Seriously?  I support everyone’s right to protest.  I was especially proud of all the Torontonians who made such great efforts to go to City Hall and speak their minds about City Council’s proposed budget cuts.  That’s effective civic action; that’s making a difference.  You guys rock.

But Occupy protesters, here’s the thing: a lot of people worked really hard throughout their lives to get to where they are.  We live in a capitalist economy.  I am not saying that I agree with the size of the gap between the haves and the have-nots – I would very much like to be as wealthy as Warren Buffett, too.  However, most of the haves have what they have because they worked for it.  They burned the midnight oil studying to build up knowledge, they sacrificed a lot of important time with family to move up the corporate ladder (which – if you know me – I am against; it’s the whole reason I started this blog), they held increasingly important jobs while studying at night and on weekends for their MBAs to reach even further.  These were the choices they made – knowingly – to get to the top.  If you worked that hard, you would expect to be at the top, too, wouldn’t you?  All I’m saying (and I’ve said it many times in previous posts) is that we all make choices that drive our lives, and we have to accept accountability for those choices.  If you have endless days to spend sitting in a park to protest no issue in particular, you made choices in your life to get you there.  If you are not happy with your life, change it.

Whew – that was a lot of pent-up anger.

