I was so upset by the Rick Vaive story that I had to get all that off my chest first.  But now, for some more lighthearted ranting…

The Royal Canadian Mint ran a full-colour, double-page spread in today’s Toronto Star to explain to Canadians how the Loonie and the Twonie are produced.  As DQ likes to say to us a lot these days, “Who cares?!”  And you know they had to have run this ad in every major daily across the country.  This is why privatization of business is a good thing, because when you leave a Crown corporation to its own devices, this is how they choose to spend their (our) money.  Did the Mint feel they needed to justify their existence now that the penny is falling out of circulation?

While driving the other day, I saw one of those “Baby on Board” stickers.  What purpose do these serve?  Will it make me swerve if I am about to hit this car? Because if I am going to crash into a car, it better not be one with a baby in it!  Does it give that car permission to drive more slowly to keep the baby calm, and therefore, as the driver behind it, I am being asked for forgiveness?  Does it tell me not to play loud music with my windows rolled down so that I don’t alarm the baby?  Really, I must know: what do you want me to do with that information?

Sound the alarms!  Our federal government has expressed concern that with Target’s entry into the Canadian market, our culture and identity are at risk.  They are worried that there will not be sufficient Canadian content in the merchandise they carry, specifically DVDs, books and CDs.  Are they for real?  This company is going to be injecting tens of billions of dollars and thousands of jobs into the Canadian economy and you’re going to nitpick them on Canadian content within media that are all going to become irrelevant anyway?  Maybe the Heritage Minister should focus his resources (i.e. our tax dollars) on how to make Canadian content good instead.

Ellen Roseman in the Toronto Star raised a great question recently: why does Bell charge their customers extra for “touch-tone service”?  The world doesn’t operate on rotary dialing, so the ten Canadians who are still using a rotary phone should be given a free touch-tone phone by Bell and the extra charge should just be eliminated.  Roseman argues it should not show up as an extra line item and instead be built into the base cost.  No different from cars, right? What new car today doesn’t have power locks as a standard feature? 

Now I can rest easy.  Blogging is such great therapy.

