Been feeling under the weather for a few days, so I haven’t been up for posting lately.  But I will share two things that brought a smile to my face.

Rosie DiManno in The Toronto Star wrote in her column this morning:

“I’m sorry, but a city that can’t figure out how to pay for a new subway has no business pondering an Olympics, the most expensive show on Earth.”

Amen to that.

And then there’s our Prime Minister, also known as Bossy Pants. His government introduced the Bill C-38 omnibus budget implementation bill that includes sweeping changes to over 70 pieces of existing legislation.  Members of the opposition introduced 871 amendments in order to break down the proposed changes so that they could be properly debated.  Seems like the right thing to do in a democratic Parliament, right?  But when you live in Stephen Harper’s world, democracy is an incovenience.  The Conservative House Leader announced that there would be only 10 hours to debate the bill, in the interest of moving the economy forward and paving the path to prosperity, of course. So I could only giggle when I read NDP House Leader Nathan Cullen’s determined comments in reference to the pending all-nighter that MPs would be pulling to get this bill through:

“I want these folks (the Conservative MPs) to feel a little bit of pain for their arrogance.  I think it’s foolhardy to approach Parliament as an annoyance, as a problem to overcome, (as though) democracy is somehow in the way all the time.  So I want them to actually feel this one.”

Sorry, Mr. Harper, was that a yawn I just saw?

One more thing: am I the only one who finds it wrong that there is so much media attention being given to Nik Wallenda’s walk over Niagara Falls, and that this spectacle is going to be aired live on prime time network television?  If he falls and dies, how would this make you feel as a spectator?

