In the wake of the TomKat split, there has been a lot of noise about the role Scientology played in Katie’s decision to leave. I profess to know very little about Scientology and I admit I can sometimes be gullible, but how could anyone get sucked in by the promise of eternal life in outer space? 

It’s been said that as a young star on the rise, Tom Cruise was desperate for validation and he found it with Scientology, through their concerted efforts to enlist movie stars with their “Project Celebrity”.  It made me realize how easy it could be for the vulnerable to be tempted into cults.  They are like children.  And like all children – despite their outer veneer of defiance and rebelliousness – they look for direction, for someone to tell them their boundaries, because they have no other frame of reference.  Scientology appears to be very good at telling its members what they can and cannot do.

And cleverly enough, the so-called religion of Scientology calls on focusing on inward growth.  The responsibility is to the self, not to civic or familial duties.  Well, no wonder Tom didn’t see the split coming! He became so deluded with how happy he is that he never even saw how unhappy Katie became.  And if he did, Scientology probably doesn’t allow him to ask her about it, because that would be taking in “negative energy”.  Sounds pretty selfish to me.

And this is why I find religion a little frightening sometimes.  While on the surface, I find it incredulous that anyone would fall for the sales pitch from groups like the Church of Scientology, who knows how I would respond if my circumstances in life were different?  Who’s to say I wouldn’t have drunk the Kool-Aid?  There’s no regulation for organizations like these, and I certainly wouldn’t suggest that this is where our tax dollars should be spent, but it’s disconcerting that there is little rein over their recruitment activities. I suppose L. Ron Hubbard would tell me not to worry: the aliens are watching over us, protecting us from Xenu.  Amen to that.

