Why is the media so angry? The latest uproar started by the media was the outrage expressed over the fact that the latest Elle Magazine cover – celebrating women in television – had one cover version with Mindy Kaling in a close-up, and other versions where Amy Poehler, Alison Williams and Zooey Deschanel were in full-body poses in revealing and fitted clothing.  The media declared that Elle was perpetuating the female one-dimensional stereotype by not showing Kaling – a more “full figure” woman, and one of South Asian descent – in the same kind of shot as the others.

I adore Mindy Kaling.  She is one of the funniest women on TV today.  I personally never really got the Tina Fey hoopla.  Mindy is as sharp-witted as they come.  When I first saw the Elle covers, I thought Mindy’s was the best and sexiest of the four by far.  So I was surprised when I suddenly saw all this anger being expressed in my social media feeds. This was reminiscent of the anger that was spewing over Mellssa McCarthy’s cover on the same magazine, where she wore a trenchcoat – purportedly to hide her full figure.

But if you recall, McCarthy didn’t understand what the fuss was all about.  She chose that trenchcoat for her cover shot, and she loved it.  Kaling was equally thrilled with her cover and was puzzled by the media firestorm that had erupted.

After reading this, I realized how tired I am with the media working so hard to get readers/listeners angry.  Where is the love, people?  You all know how anti-Rob-Ford I am, but even I was getting irritated by the sensationalist headlines in The Toronto Star.  I don’t know how getting angry became the way to deliver credible journalism.  It winds us all up in a frenzy.  You can see this in all the commentary threads – I feel veins bursting everywhere reading the angry and hateful remarks.  And more often than not, all this is for naught.

So if Mindy declares that she had no problem with her cover shot, let it go.  Don’t be angry; it’s such a waste of energy.

